still awake and sitting in Sakharov…

at my sweetie’s house for a while. I am talking to a couple people, though I will sleep soon. I’ve been staying up way too late lately. Can’t get used to that.

I’ve been thinking a lot about an email that Beladona sent out today about how Second Life impacts our first life. And it does. We open up more, we allow more in because there is a screen between us and everyone else out there. Which there is nothing wrong with….it’s one of the most comfortable ways for me to communicate, though I like talking on the phone quite well now.

Anyway, I’m getting away from my point, which I regularly do and can hear all of you saying….get back to the subject now…so….yes…where was I?

Second Life is impacting my first life a lot these days. The quality of the way it allows you to interact is important. I am enjoying spending time being close on screen which makes me feel lovely in real life. I do not think it’s crazy to be honest and hopeful. I do not think it’s crazy to be completely open to someone that wants to make you happy. Even if it’s only been a few days, please people….what the hell could be crazy about making someone feel special and cared for?

I believe Second Life gives you a chance more than usual to voice those feelings in a intimate way and feel truly connected, because you are spending time together and doing things in a virtual world. It’s a whole new era of long distance relationships. (Aye this is turning into a love post instead of a Second Life post, bite me.)

You’re still fearful that someone will think you a little nutty but there this chance that this one person won’t think you’re crazy at all, but instead, completely normal. All because they are feeling the same way. Hiding behind fear isn’t going to make you happy, taking that step toward someone and trusting and being straightforward, saying what you feel and meaning it, is important. I sometimes wonder if I say too much, if I am much too honest, if jumping off the deep end and loving…..is too much.

But then I realize, the reward, the love that you get to give and receive…..there is nothing more that I’d rather risk my heart on.

3 responses to “still awake and sitting in Sakharov…

  1. Chel –

    This is an amazing commentary…I had no idea.

    Amazing, simply amazing.

    MB

  2. I, for one, have no fear that people will think that I am nutty.

    After a long struggle with it, I came to the conclusion that I am nutty, and that people are right in thinking so.

    I’ve also come to the conclusion that their reaction is usually a demonstration of their inability to come to grips with their own nuttiness.

    Amazing, how in a world where upside-down pyramids can rotate on their point, people feel the need to put on blinders in order to remain on firm ground and comfortable.

    Or, as I like to put it: “Every button on the Wonkavator is right there for the pressing, and y’all want to take THE STAIRS?”

  3. I do find it rather surprising how tightly people cling to their own normal in a world where anything can happen. You have something there, LS.

    Sometimes ya just gotta take a chance and do it differently than the time before.

    ***********************

    MB, thanks hon.

Leave a Reply

